If you do not know, I am an avid reader. Although school does not always provide me the time to read, I always do my best to find time to read. After all, being a good writer comes from reading great writing. This is not to say that all the books that I read or that my writing is great, but I am proud of what I have done in the past three years. However, here are the books that I am recommending for this holiday season. They are very similar to ones that I have recommended in the past. Also, I will be using GIFs this time to show what the book is if it is a book-to-film type of thing.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: Despite some of the inappropriate themes in this young adult novel, it still goes down as my favorite book and one of my favorite movies out there. I will say that it is for a much older teenage/young adult audience, so this is something I would not recommend getting for a kid who is in middle school. You’ll thank me later.


Steve Jobs Biography
: I am talking about the official one by Walter Isaaccsson. It’s great for people who love biographies. Also, there is a paperback version of it that is much cheaper than buying the hardcover, although I still recommend the hardcover just because I believe that it looks better, and is worth the $20-30 pricetag (price via Barnes and Noble).


I, Justine
by Justine Ezarik (aka iJustine)
: This is surprisingly one of my favorite books. I like how it is an autobiography and how she talks about the life of…well, being different. For example, (SPOILERS) there is a part in the book where she would be mentioning that when she was a senior in high school and doing senior pictures, everyone else was doing pictures where you do a pose or showoff your athletic gear if you were an athlete. She on the other hand took a picture with her and her Apple G4. And lastly, it captures the life of someone who has one of those jobs that is both easy and hard to describe. Reading this book could make you a little more “well-rounded.” Unfortunately in this case, I’m the one that has to showing you this amazing book.

One of iJustine’s senior pictures.

Struck by Lightning by Chris Colfer: Probably one of my favorite books all because of two things; first of all, the main character wants to be a journalist and secondly, he sums up math with this one simple quote. If you do purchase the book, you may as well purchase the film because it’s just as good as the book, but sadly, Netflix does not have it anymore.

Let it Snow by John Green: So this one is by John Green and two other author. The novel is a set of short stories and they all come together at the end. It’s perfect for the holiday and winter season. Maybe buy it for that bookworm in your family and then give it to him/her early so that he/she can finish it before Christmas. I guarantee that it will get the person in the Christmas and holiday mood.

Designed by Apple in California: This book is dedicated to Steve Jobs and showcases all of the Apple products made over the past 20 years. However, as much as I would like to recommend this book or think that everyone should get it, I could see that $200-300 price tag driving people away. If you’re in the market and have the money for it, by all means, go for it.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizini: I feel like this one could connect well with today’s youth. After all, they are the ones that are claiming to be depressed and having constant anxiety. This book shows you that if you are experiencing some form of anxiety or depression, that you are not the only one and do not have to go through it alone.

Chords of Strength by David Archuleta: Archuleta just happens to be my favorite music artist, and he wrote this book to tell people how he really felt during his time on American Idol and life in general. I’ll try not to give away too much just because I do not want to spoil it for anyone who wants to read it, but I will say that it is different from other autobiographies that are out there.

Looking for Alaska by John Green: This was Green’s first novel that was published. It’s a great mystery novel and also a coming-of-age story. I love the idea of the kid going into a boarding school and the reference to NASCAR legend, Jeff Gordon (which is my brother’s favorite NASCAR driver). Unfortunately, there is no book-to-movie on this novel yet, but hopefully one day it will exist! Also, buy the 10th anniversary hard cover. I know the price will probably be intimidating, but it’s worth it. If I could go back and do it all over again, I would have bought the hard cover, but alas, I have the paperback version.

In the end, some of these books in my eyes are great. My experience reading some of them were great. I say “some” because I have not read all of them (Designed by Apple in California). To save money, try and find bargain shelfs for these books because they are on them in select stores and it could mean that you could not only buy just one of these books, but maybe multiple ones. I hope this list helps you find the right books for your loved ones this holiday season.

